KL’s proposed rail network

According to the newspaper today, the government has approved the proposed alignment for the new light rail transit (LRT) line in the Klang Valley.

Indeed a good news to all Klang Valley folks!

— Let us refresh back on this development —

Somewhere in April 2006, KLIG (the holding company of KL Monorail) proposes this…

 KL Monorail's proposal

 The 4 new lines proposed by KL Monorail are:

1. The Petaling Jaya Line (21km) : from Damansara Perdana to – Bandar Utama – Damansara utama – integration with Kelana Jaya LRT – Lembah Subang – integration with KTM Subang Jaya – Subang Jaya, integration with another new line called SJ Line – USJ

2. The Subang Jaya Line (18km) : from KL Sentral Monorail to – MidValley – Taman Desa – OUG – Puchong – USJ – integration with new line called PJ Line

3. The Sungai Buloh Line (13km) : from Bandar Utama to – Bandar Sri Damansara – Kepong – Segambut – Titiwangsa, integration with present KL Monorail and LRT line

4. The Cheras Line (13km) : from Ampang Line LRT extended to – Bandar Tun Razak – Plaza Phoenix – Cheras Perdana – Bandar Tun Hussein Onn

Later, Syarikat Prasarana Negara Berhad (SPNB), the holding company under the Ministry of Finance tabled its version of public transportation plan in the Klang Valley.


The government announced in the Budget 2007 in September last year that a new line from Kota Damansara to Cheras would be built and 2 existing lines are to be extended – from Kelana Jaya to USJ and from Sri Petaling to Puchong.

— —

SSC Forumers found a very interesting rendering on how KL rail networks may look like in the year 2020…

KL's visionary rail systems 

With all the current proposed lines built (which include an extension from the present Kelana Jaya Line to USJ and a new line from Kota Damansara to Cheras), there might already be a proposal for another three additional lines to be built in the future.

The first being an inner circular lope in KL city itself starting from KL Sentral to – Tasik Perdana – Mahameru – Titiwangsa – Jalan Tun Razak – Ampang Embassy Row – Kampung Pandan – Cochrane – Jalan Chan Sow Lin – Dewan Bahasa – Istana Negara – back to KL Sentral.

The second being an outer circular lope around KL suburbs starting from One Utama to – Kepong – Jinjang – Jalan Ipoh – (existing Sentul to Sri Petaling Line) Sentul – Masjid Jamek – Hang Tuah – Pudu – Miharja – Cheras – Salak Selatan – Sungai Besi – Sri Petaling – (extension) Jalan Puchong – PJ Old Town – Assunta – PJ New Town (State) – Seksyen 19 – SS2 – Taman Tun Dr Ismail – back to One Utama

A third line might be from Pusat Bandar Puchong to – Kinrara – OUG and Kuchai Lama – Desa Petaling – Sungai Besi – Jalan Istana – Loke Yew – Pudu – Thamby Dollah – Kia Peng – KLCC – Kampung Baru – Ayer Panas – Genting Klang – Setapak – Sri Gombak – UIA campus in Gombak.

— —

For now I just hope that the government will fulfill their promises to the people. Extend our present rail network to more and MORE areas… quickly!!! 

Proposed new LRT trains 

And recently, the government under SPNB bought many new trains to increase the present capacity on the Kelana Jaya Line. Soon we may get to travel on a 4-car train like the above picture! 


2 Responses to “KL’s proposed rail network”

  1. bobby Says:

    i would have preferred the proposed monorail line instead of the accepted line to just extend puchong line….what we need is more lines with more stations n more integration links between the different lines…

    crap man…puchong n subang are so near…just 5 minutes by car…but there’s no bus or train service by rapidkl!

    kl must really learn fr sg super efficient public transport system…

  2. patchay Says:

    Yeah is quite true that KL needs lotsa improvement. In fact more work need to be done.. like I thing the entire LRT lines in KL now is kinda not planned properly. Let’s see what happens few years from now.. will there be implementation of new lines.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: